New Guidelines for International Travelers amid Omicron

On Sunday Press release, The Union Health Ministry issues newly revised guidelines for the international arrivals in India which will be effectively comes to practice from December 1. The revised guidelines mandate submitting 14 days’ travel details and uploading a negative RT-PCR test report on the Air Suvidha portal before the journey.

New travel guidelines

As per guidelines, travelers from countries that are at-risk zones are mandatory to take a covid PCR test after the post-arrival and wait for the results at the airport. If tested negative, they’ll follow home quarantine for seven days. A re-test on the 8th day and, if negative, further self-monitor for the next seven days. This is the recommended guideline from the Health Ministry for the Risk-Zone Countries.

Travelers from countries excluding the ‘countries at risk’ will be allowed to leave the airport and should self-monitor their health for 14 days. A sub-section (5% of total flight passengers) should undergo post-arrival testing at random at the airport on arrival. On Saturday Press release, the central government released the list of countries that are at the risk zones namely South Africa, China, Botswana, those in Europe including the UK, Brazil, Israel, Bangladesh, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Israel, and Hong Kong.

The Central Government also mentioned that there will be a review of the resumption of Scheduled international commercial flights. The Centre said it will take a decision on the effective date for resumption of commercial international passenger flights after reviewing the “evolving global scenario” over the Omicron variant of coronavirus.

Recent Posts